The Louvre replicas
The workshop of Le Louvre in Paris was born in 1794 two years after the opening of the museum.It has been created in order to spread artistic and scientific knowledge. In 1895 it became the RMN (réunion of the national museums).With its 5000 references it is considered as a museum by itself! In the time a piece of art can be damaged or destroyed and it remains alive thanks to its mold. All the replicas are stamped as a guarantee of the origin and quality of their making. The knowledge of the RMN is recognized all around the world.
The chalcography department boasts a collection of 14000 plates most of which are engravings on copper. The original copper plates date back to the 16 th century and all belong to the Louvre Museum's collection. Colbert founded the collection kept in the King's room of engraved plates to illustrate and publicize the great events of Louis XIV's reign.The 907 plates that make up the description of Egypt and tell the story of Bonapate's 1798 expedition are extremely valuable from an archeologial and scientific point of vue. In the 20 th century the Chalcography department opened its doors to modern artists. The museum has remained faithful to the traditional process involved in copper engraving and its stamp is a guarantee of savoir-faire and quality.